2012 Race Season Roundup.


This review of the 2012 race season is uncannily similar to our 2011 season wrap up. Both of the defending champions from 2011 repeated as our 2012 champions.

In the Confederation of Autosport Car Clubs (CACC) Championship Alan McColl again won the Formula Ford title, in his Tiga FF77, for the 3rd straight year. He won 6 of the 8 races this past season. The only driver to beat him this year was Rick Payne at the 1st race weekend of the season back in April. In addition to his wins, Alan also set a new Formula Ford track record this year at Mission Raceway Park.

Alan McColl in his Tiga FF77 at Mission Raceway Park. Photo courtesy of Gerry Frechette.

Over in the International Conference of Sports Car Clubs (ICSCC) Championship Vancouver’s James Hepburn, in his Crossle 35F, won the 2012 Club Ford Title. He captured 12 race wins this year out of the 15 races that make up the Championship. It was his 3rd Club Ford Title in the past 4 years and the 4th time he has won the Championship.

James Hepburn in his Crossle 35F at Pacific Raceways in Seattle, WA . Photo courtesy of Gerry Frechette.

Locally the 2012 race season at Mission Raceway Park provide some great racing action with some hard fought battles and wheel to wheel excitement. Here in B.C. we saw more cars entered in our local CACC races and we had several new drivers join our ranks. We welcomed Doug Floer and Steve Hocaluk to the group as both were new to the class. In addition we had drivers like Keith Robinson, Craig Archer, Rick Payne and Alan Long make a return to the class.

For 2013 we are looking forward to having even more drivers join us as Formula Ford in B.C. continues to grow. We have just recently announced a 45th Anniversary of Formula Ford Racing in B.C. feature race to be held as part of the 2013 B.C. Historic Motor Races (BCHMR) weekend this coming summer. This event should be very exciting as drivers from Western Canada and across the US Pacific Northwest are being invited to join us for an extraordinary weekend of Formula Ford racing. More details on this event will be posted on our website so I would invite you check back on the website for more information.